This is DIY Filmmaking…

543039_268451073250929_263799937049376_548773_560689892_n-copy-2-1I just came across a few photos of me filming and thought that these pictures could give somebody a good idea of how simple filmmaking really is.  As you can see, there is no film crew on location with me.  A video camera, a decent microphone and a computer along with a good story is all you need to pack a movie theater if you are willing to learn.  The top photo was my first day filming on my first feature DIY documentary.  I learned something very important that day.  You can see in the photo on top that I have the standard foam mic cover on the microphone.  When I got back to my home office that night where I edit, I heard an annoying wind sound in some of the footage that I filmed.  So I went to the B&H website and ordered a Rycote Softie Windscreen.  You can see the new windscreen on the photo below.  It cost close to a hundred bucks, but it was the best hundred dollars I spent on the whole documentary.  Keep that in mind if you are doing a lot of outdoor filming on your doc.

Incase you are wondering, the camera I am using in these photos is a Sony HVR-Z7U that costs around $5,000.  Please understand that you do not need an expensive camera to take high quality video.  It was an older camera but it had great HD quality and XLR inputs for a high end microphone.  And believe it or not I shot my entire doc of about 120 hours on digital HDV mini tapes.

More important then the camera, I used a MKH 8060 Sennheiser shotgun mic.  It was expensive, it cost about $1200, but it records amazing sound.  If you can’t go that high, look at Sennheiser’s lower end shotgun mics that run between $200-$400 and always remember sound is very important.  I remember when I talked to the legendary documentary filmmaker Albert Maysles after he watched a rough cut of the film he said to me…”before we talk about the movie, I want you to know that the sound on this film is fantastic.”  A couple of years later, Bill Jersey, another great cinema verite pioneer said pretty much the same thing.

I shot the entire film with that mic with great sound.  I never had to stop a person to put a lavalier mic on them nor did I ever have a person holding a boom mic over their heads.  This is what I’m talking about with this blog, simple filming that is unobtrusive but captures your story as truthfully as possible with high quality.

10395195_845218712174177_2671073473362212972_n-1

This entry was posted in DOCUMENTARY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

